The History Group meets on the third Friday of the month in the Reading Rooms, High Street, Chinnor, from 2.30-4pm. We have currently around 30 very friendly members and would welcome any newcomers.

The meetings are mainly made up of speakers from our own members plus guest speakers, which will include some from the CHaTTR group. We usually have a day out once a year visiting something of local historical interest and of course we have a special meeting at Christmas with a party, quiz and lots of fun! As you can see from this year’s very mixed programme, we have something of interest to suit most people.

Please do try us out and if you would like any further information ring Hilary Goodchild.


2.30-4pm Reading Rooms, High Street, Chinnor





Friday 20th January


Murder Mystery!

Molly Milner


Friday 17th February



Richard Carver


Friday 17th March

Roman Emperors

Group Members



Friday 21st April


The Remarkable Story of the English

National Chair – The Windsor

Stewart Linford


Friday 19th May


Bring from home: your oldest/most

interesting book

Group Members


Friday 16th June


James Thornhill Paintings in

St Andrew’s Church

Barbara Bigland

Art History Group


Friday 21st July


Isaac Cotgrave

Rosemary Brook


Friday 18th August


A Life in Aviation

Steve Goodchild


Friday 15th September*


Outing to Waterperry Museum

Mary Trimmer


Friday 20th October


Operation Sea Lion

George Hunter


Friday 17th November


History of Motor Sport

Nigel Trotman


Friday 15th December*


Christmas Party/Meeting